top of page

The Adventure of the Golden Telescope (Part 1)

The Adventure of the Golden Telescope

Based on Plot themes from “The Adventure of the Naval Treaty”

Story plot inspiration and primary story character (Jenny) inspired by 4th grade student from Wilmington Manor Elementary.

Going to Conan Doyle Elementary has always been an interesting adventure. I have come across all sorts of interesting friends and people. Yes, besides “the girls” I also one day set about to solve a case with a young girl named Jenny. Nanny Hudson needed to stop by the bank, and I had heard that the local bank London Financial had brought in an item of considerable value that interested me. Of course, it was a Saturday and I also needed to have my little sister Eurus tag along as well. The item of interest was a golden telescope that they had on display. The new bank was trying to promote its theme of “Financial Vision: The sky's the limit when London Financial is in it for the Future” by displaying the golden telescope in the center of the bank. It was certainly a sight to see. The Bustling Bank “We are going where, Locky?” asked Euros. “To the Bank Euros. Nanny Hudson needs to stop by to make a deposit. I, however, thought you and I would enjoy seeing a golden telescope. It says here on this advertisement that the bank is displaying a golden telescope from the British Museum. It was a telescope that was originally used in Australia at the Sydney Observatory,” said I. “Are banks loud?” asked Euros “Don't worry Euros...we have your headphones if it gets too noisy. The bank normally is very quiet though, so don't get yourself all worked up” said Nanny. Euros looking confused turned and said to Sherlock. “Worked up? Am I getting taller?” said Euros. “Nanny, you have to remember Euros has trouble picking up on abstract expressions,” said Sherlock. “Oh...I am sorry...Euros what I meant was you don't need to worry,” said Nanny. “Oh worry...all good,” said Euros with a smile. The three walked outside and Nanny hailed a cab and they all hopped in and were off to the bank. Sherlock watched as Euros starred out the window ever so intently. “What are you looking at Euros?” “Just counting,” said Euros. Sherlock then realized that Euros had been counting the lampposts or any lights they had passed. “How many?” said Sherlock. “45 exactly, two needed to have clocks shifted,” said Euros. “Marvelous deduction sister, did you count the electric lights or just the gas lamps?” said I. “Sorry to interrupt guv,” said the cabby. “But I need to lower me window down and talk to this bobby to see what's going on ere, so please stay quiet” “Oh no. Lots of people. Loud people” said Euros, raising her arms to cover her ears. “It's fine, Euros, time for headphones,” said Sherlock. “Wait...girl crying...must help her!” said Euros, as she jumped right out of the cab and started running. “Wait, Euros!” yelled Sherlock. Sherlock chased after her running through the crowds of people and flashing lights. He would see glimpses of his sister's long black braided hair swift through the crowd as he followed close behind. “What's wrong?” asked Euros to the girl. The girl Euros was talking to was crying and very upset. “It's all my fault! It must be!” cried Jenny. “What is your fault? Why sad? Stop being sad right now. Turn off, and get Ice Cream!,” said Euros. “Euros, she is not like your sound detector. You can't command her to turn off, and I have told ice cream doesn't solve everything,” said Sherlock. “I am sorry friend, what is your name?” “My name...is Jenny Phelps. I think I might have messed up everything last night with the telescope,” “What happened to the telescope?” “Well, my mom works here at the bank and I...well...I guess I should tell you about what happened last night.” The Night Before

“Jenny, I am going to go check on the coffee maker. Need to brew a fresh cup since I will be working late when we get home” said Jenny's mom. “Ok, Mum, I am just finishing up on my math homework,” said Jenny. “Ok, Jenny, but please remember to stay in my office, and do not step out for any reason. I would hate for you to get lost or get into something by accident,” I remember the evening quiet clearly as I sat there just doing my homework. I knew my mom had asked me to not step out of her office, but the math work I was doing was so ever boring. I decided to make it interesting by jumping along the floor to help me solve the math problems. Well...without really watching where I was going I fell right through my mom's office door. That is when I saw the telescope. I couldn't help but walk closer to see the display. My hand gracefully fell and touched the glass as I was amazed by its golden beauty. “What a pretty telescope,” I said. As my hand gently stroked the glass of the display case, the telescope fell right to the bottom of the display. Smashing into many pieces. “Oh no! I must have broken it! Oh no no no...my mum is going to kill me.” I quickly ran to the front door of the bank, when I was stopped by the night watchman. “Aye, missy, where you think yer going? Where is yer mum anyway?” “I...um...well...she is...getting coffee” Suddenly, the phone by the night watchman's desk started to ring. “That is funny, it's your mom's office phone,” said the watchman. He picked up the phone and said 'hello...Mrs. Phelps....ha no answer.' that is very odd indeed. Up walked my mother...she was very angry. “Roger, what is the meaning of all this racket. Jenny, I told you to stay in the office,” said Mrs. Phelps.

With a concerned face Roger said, “Mam, I have a more important question to ask. If you and Jenny are here, then who in the world just paged my phone from your office?” We all quickly ran to my mother's office, but we were unable to find anyone. Seeing how concerned my mother was I had to say something about the telescope. “I am sorry to say this mum, but I think I broke the telescope.” “You did what!” said Mrs. Phelps. My mother ran out of the room to the display case. I ran after her and started to cry as I said, “I am so sorry mum I feel awful! I didn't mean to! Look at all the broken pieces!” My mother was at first silent, but as she held me close she turned to Roger and said, “Roger, this is not the workings of my daughter...Roger...someone has stolen the telescope...call Scotland Yard!”

To be continued...


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page