top of page

The Old Man and the New Plan (Part 3 of The Case of Meg's Blue Thumb)

Hello, Readers and mystery seekers,

Well, it has been some time since I wrote last. I do have what I consider a humorous and exciting story to share today. Firstly, you should know that this blog will now be maintained by I...Caroline Wilson. Sherlock from time to time will be writing his own blog posts, but today he has decided to sit in his “Setteling Chair” and have me dictate his blog post. I had been sitting here at his house for some time now. He had requested that I wait for him to come back so that we could work on a homework assignment due next week. All of a sudden, I saw him burst through the door dressed from head to toe in the most ridiculous outfit I had ever seen. My eyes grew so wide....wait...I think I say that too much. Well, let's just say he looked like the oldest man I had ever seen before. I had quite a laugh as I asked him to explain what his crazy outfit was all about. I will now share with you the original conversation we had just 15 min ago. It was a strange conversation indeed.

As The Old Man Sits:

“Merlin's Beard! Sherlock! What in the world are you doing in that getup!” said I.

“Oh, Deary! Don't you know it's me? Good old Mr. MerryWeather!” said Sherlock. Sherlock began to chuckle ever so loudly as he was beside himself taking off his ridiculous beard while looking into his costume mirror.

“I do say, Caroline. It is not what I am doing that is the singular thing, it is, however, what I have done that you you should find very interesting. Oh, Jolly good! This shall be an interesting story indeed. Pull up a chair Caroline and if you would start writing a nice blog post this shall be a juicy tale indeed for our readers,” said Sherlock all happy as could be. I pulled up my laptop and began typing his every word. He proceeded to tell me of the hilarious excuse he had made to get a ride with Mrs. Thomas who he bumped into while she was shopping at Selfridges. (Selfridges is a very popular and famous department store here in London.) He told her some tale that he had apparently known Mrs. Thomas's ancestors from....well I better not say just yet...which he could actually truthfully say some details about it since....well yet again I better not say. Anyway, he was able to ride along with Mrs. Thomas as she was about to go pick Meg and Audrey up from school. Conveniently, Abigail had been invited to a Tarry Cotter club meeting and would be riding with Bella Potter's mom. So as Meg and Audrey stepped into the vehicle you obviously can assume that they were very curious about this supposed Mr. Merryweather.

A Little Viral Ride You Say?

"So Mum, Mr. Merryweather said he needed a little ride to New Scotland Yard?” giggled Meg as she looked at Audrey motioning her to try to hold back their laughter.

“Yes, Mr. Merryweather was sharing how he knew our ancestors so well. He also said that apparently, they have impounded his car under false pretenses.”

"Yes! My Car!” said Sherlock with an older man's voice.“Those Bobbies took my precious Viral. I call her my Viral Vehicle,” said the Mr. Merryweather.

The girls again tried to hold back laughter at the TubeYube reference. “Well, apparently my Viral was just running too slow when I was driving it. They also said it was too short of a car. To many 'scribers' on it they said! Sigh! They said it should probably be put in the Vine parking lot. They said nobody likes a viral car that drives around, but I told them very clearly 'I am never gonna give her up, never gonna let her down, never gonna turn around and desert her!' and at that they just rolled her right away,” sniffed Mr. Merryweather.

At this, the girls had almost fallen out of their seats in roars of laughter.

“I just can't...I just can't!” laughed Audrey as she began to tear up from her laughter.

“Girls stop it! Mr. Merryweather is a very nice man it is not nice to make fun of his missing car,” said Meg's Mom.The Girls stopped right away but smiled at each other the rest of the car ride mouthing the words 'Viral' car. When they had finally arrived at New Scotland Yard, Mr. Merryweather began to complain of back pains.

“Mrs. Thomas, I know you have not known me very long. However, I believe I will need these two girls to assist in helping me walk into the building.”

“Oh. That is fine Mr. Merryweather, but oh...I have to stop by the University still to pick up my papers to grade. It is closing early today and I have only a short amount of time to get there. Ok. Girls I am going to need you to go with Mr. Merryweather. Hopefully, they will give him his car and he could drive you home? Would that be ok? Mr. Merryweather?” asked Meg's Mom.

“Oh, that will be elemen...I mean just fine indeed,” said Sherlock giving a wink to the girls. After getting inside the girls were able to have their thumbs tested and the results came back that yes the blue dye was from the Blue Cat Corporation. Paul Lestrade then shared with the girls that they were selected by the corporation because of their love for science. He said it would be critical for them to become undercover agents for Scotland Yard in order to find out what was going on inside the corporation. The Girls nodded as Meg texted her Mom 'Hey Mom, Mr. Merryweather offered to stop and get us Ice cream at Regents Park. Is that ok?'

“Wait! Meg!” said Inspector Lestrade. “Your mother can't know about this at all...at least not yet. I know especially you Audrey need to not say a word! Your mother would be storming down my front door ever since your sister's... (Well I better leave that out if you haven't read all of Every Clue Counts. Let's just say my Mum would have had a very good reason to be paranoid if my sister suddenly disappeared.)

“But it feels wrong to lie?” said Meg.

“It will not be a lie at all Meg. Just don't say anything just yet. Once you are undercover I will inform your mother of all the details that are happening. I promise. This is is a case of using discretion. You will be perfectly safe,” said Inspector Lestrade. “Now before you are noticed here you better go. Oh...and on your way out, give Mr. Merryweather these pounds for a Taxi and give him my best regards for probably one of his best and most elaborate disguises.”

After leaving New Scotland yard Sherlock, still dressed as Mr. Merryweather, took the girls on a Cab ride to Regents Park. Sherlock noticed that Meg and Audrey seemed to be getting a little nervous, so Sherlock decided to take them both to the Houseboat Cafe to get some ice cream. After some customers had left the tables behind and in front of them empty, Sherlock began to whisper. “Now girls, please know that the Blue Cat Corporation will most likely send you a text message of sorts. That is how the previous contacts have been made by the organization. They have fast forms of technology that can even hack all sorts of phones.”

“I bet they won't hack into your phone Meg, yours is pretty well protected,” said Audrey.

“Yeah, but how else would they...”Suddenly, a ringtone went off on Meg's cell phone.“Meow!” was the tone.

To be continued...


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page